12 zodiac constellations and their meanings

12 Zodiac Constellations

The twelve most popular constellations are Virgo, Libra, Scorpius, Sagittarius, Capricornus, Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, and Leo. Contrary to popular belief, there are actually 13 Constellations of the Zodiac, according to the astronomical definition of constellations. so the 13th is Ophinuchus. 12 Zodiac Constellations 


The science of astronomy is the study of the stars, but most people commonly learn about constellations through astrology – the science (or art) of telling a person’s future.

What are Constellations?

Constellations are a specific arrangement or pattern of stars seen in the night sky. They are best described as star pictures, arranged around three specific brightest stars within the picture. It is generally agreed that there are eighty-eight constellations within a specific spherical area of the sky. 12 Zodiac Constellations 

What are Zodiac Constellations and their Historical Explanation? 12 Zodiac Constellations 

The word “zodiac” is from the Greek word “Zoon” and means a collection of animals. Most people have only heard about the Greek and Roman explanations of the constellations, but there is an explanation far older than that.

According to Hutchings, the oldest explanation comes from the Bible, and corroborated by Josephus the famous ancient historian. Josephus noted in the Antiquities of the Jews that the sons of Seth knew the signs of the stars and what the meant for the earth. Seth is the third listed son of Adam and Eve, the progenitors of the human race according to Genesis.

The Babylonians, Chinese, and Indians all have explanations for the Zodiac. However, the Greeks and Romans explanation and names for the 12 signs of the Zodiac are the most well known.

If the pictures were visualized as numbers on a clock, the earth is the tip of the hour hand, revolving around the center, which is the sun. The sun has the appearance of traveling through the signs, changing from one sign to another each month.

12 Zodiac Constellations According to the Ancient Biblical Interpretation 12 Zodiac Constellations 

Virgo stands for the Virgin, referring to the seed of a woman Mary, who bore a Son, the Saviour. Based on Isaiah 7:14 and John 3:16. Libra is the Unbalanced Scales. The Biblical interpretation of this is the continual attempt of man to buy or work for his own salvation. At the end, all will be judged or weighed based on how they responded to the Saviour. Daniel 5:27, Ephesians 2:8-10, and Revelations 20:11-15.

Scorpio stands for the Scorpion. Every human has been infected by the sting of sin which leads to death. I Corinthians 15:56 and Acts 4:12 explain the human condition of sin and judgment. Sagittarius, the Warrior, is the one who came to defeat Satan and eventually the AntiChrist.

Capricorn is the Goat. In ancient times, the goat was the animal who bore the sins of the people and was sent out into the desert. The goat was the atonement animal picturing the final sacrifice of Christ on the cross. Hebrews 9:28; 10:4,5 explain more. Aquarius represents the Water-Bearer. He is the will pour out waters of blessings on the Earth in the end. Isaiah 32:1 Joel 2:23.

Pisces, the Two Fish which were multiplied by Jesus. This miracle in John 6 is a real word picture of the extravagant grace poured out on the world. The sun was in the area of Pisces when Jesus was born. Aries is the Lamb of God, described in John 1:29 and prophesied in Isaiah that the Messiah would come as a lamb led to slaughter.

Taurus, the Bull, represents the Messiah who will come as a raging bull, attacking those who have not obeyed. A time will come when humans will have no more opportunities to follow him. Gemini, also known as the Twins, refer to the two-fold nature of Christ, who is both fully man and fully Christ.

The final two are Cancer and Leo. Cancer is the Crab, one who holds fast. John 10:28 is referring to the security the children of God have in knowing they will always be with Christ. Leo, the Lion, is Jesus. He is the Lion of the Tribe of Judah (Revelations 5:5).

Mankind has always been fascinated with the stars. The stars have been used since ancient times to interpret the future. However, this is a little known story of the 12 Zodiac Constellations, but one rooted within the Biblical tradition and predating other cultural-historical explanations.


Hutchings, N.W. God : The Master Mathematician, Southwest Radio Church Publications, Oklahoma

Find more on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Read previous post:
Taurus Dark Side Zodiac
Taurus Dark Side Zodiac – Taurus Dark Side Astrology

Those born under Taurus often suffer from stubbornness. This is their dark side. Recognizing and confronting this part of the...