The History of Liverpool Football Club

The History of Liverpool Football Club

Liverpool Football Club was formed to fill the void left by Everton’s departure and they were elected to the Second Division of the Football League in 1893. The club ended their first season unbeaten and were promoted to the First Division as Champions.

Also Read

They secured their first Football League title in 1901 and were crowned champions again in 1906. By 1914, Liverpool reached their first FA Cup Final, but they were beaten by Burnley 1-0.

Liverpool had to wait until 1922 before achieving more silverware when they secured another League title. They then defended their championship and became back to back League title winners for the first time in 1923.

The club then had a 24 year wait before winning another trophy, winning the League title again in 1947. However, the club then endured years of struggle following this success, culminating in their relegation to the Second Division in 1954.

Bill Shankly Arrives as Manager and Brings Success to Liverpool F.C.

Liverpool appointed Bill Shankly as manager in 1959 and during his first year, he completely re-shaped the squad. By 1962, Shankly had led the club to the Second Division title and promotion back to the top flight of English football, where they have stayed ever since.

1964 saw Liverpool win the League title again for the first time in 17 years and they won their first FA Cup in 1965. They were crowned champions again in 1966 as Shankly began to help the club dominate English football.

An eighth League title was secured in 1973 and the same year saw Liverpool gain their first European trophy when winning the UEFA Cup after beating Borrusia Monchengladbach in the final. Another FA Cup was secured in 1974, but Bill Shankly retired after 15 years of success and Bob Paisley, Shankly’s assistant, took over as manager.

Bob Paisley Appointed Manager and Continues the Glory for Liverpool F.C.

Paisley helped to continue the success Liverpool had enjoyed and by 1976, had guided the club to a further League title and another UEFA Cup success.

The following year Liverpool continued to dominate both English and European football by retaining the League title, and despite losing the 1977 FA Cup Final, they secured their first European Cup by beating Borrusia Monchengladbach once again, this time 3-1.

Liverpool held on to the European Cup in 1978 by beating Club Bruge 1-0 in the final and they were again crowned English League title winners in 1979. The success continued with Liverpool winning the League title again in 1980 and Paisley led the club to a third European Cup victory in 1981.

The following two seasons saw Liverpool win the League and League Cup ‘double’ in 1982 and 1983 brining Paisley’s amazing time in charge to an end with only the FA Cup eluding him.

As Shankly had done before him, Paisley handed the managerial responsibilities to his assistant, Joe Fagan. In his first season in charge Liverpool won the 1984 League title, League Cup and European Cup.

The Heysal Disaster 1985

The club reached the 1985 European Cup final too and faced Juventus at the Heysal Stadium, but before kick off tragedy struck as 39 fans were killed inside the ground after a wall collapsed following fighting amongst rival fans. The game was played regardless with Juventus running out 1-0 winners. English clubs were banned from European competition for five years as punishment.

Liverpool appointed the clubs first ever player-manager in the shape of Kenny Dalglish in 1985 and during his reign he led them to the prestigious League and FA Cup double in 1986. He also secured the club two more League titles wins in 1988 and 1990 and a further FA Cup win in 1989.

The Hillsborough Disaster 1989

However, during this time of glory, tragedy struck the football club again as a total of 96 fans were killed after being crushed against a fence at Hillsborough football stadium during an FA Cup Semi-final against Nottingham Forest.

Following Kenny Dalglish’s resignation, Graeme Souness was appointed as manager in 1991. However, despite FA Cup success in 1992, defeating Sunderland 2-0 in the final, Souness proved to be an unsuccessful predecessor and was replaced by Roy Evans in 1994. Evans five-year stint in charge saw just one League Cup win in 1995, so in 1998 former French national coach, Gerard Houllier was asked to join the management team and work alongside Evans.

The partnership failed to take off and soon after Evans resigned leaving Houllier in complete control. In 2001, he guided Liverpool to an amazing haul of the FA Cup, League Cup, UEFA Cup, FA Charity Shield and UEFA Super Cup.

However, Houllier would only win one more trophy in charge of the club, the 2003 League Cup and left in 2004.

Liverpool Secure Fifth European Cup Win

Rafael Benitez took over and in his first season in charge led the club to victory in the 2005 European Cup by beating AC Milan on penalties. This was to be their fifth win in the competitions history. Liverpool then secured the 2006 FA Cup by beating West Ham again on penalties.

Liverpool again reached the European Cup Final in 2007 and again faced AC Milan, but this time they were to lose 2-1.

Find more on:


Tagged with:

#liverpool #liverpool f.c. 

Read previous post:
Negative Calorie Diet
Negative Calorie Diet | Though the Negative Calorie Diet plan

Though the Negative Calorie Diet plan can help you lose weight, the real purpose of the diet is to increase...